The National Flag

The National Flag of the Republic of Zimbabwe consists of seven even horizontal stripes of green, gold/yellow, red and black colours with a white triangle containing a red five pointed star with a Zimbabwean Bird.

The following are the meanings of the colours on the flag :

  • Green represents agriculture and vegetation
  • Yellow/Gold represents the country’s mineral wealth
  • Red represents the blood shed during the war of liberation
  • Black represents the Black majority
  • White triangle represents peace


The Zimbabwe Bird represents the National Emblem and the Red five pointed Star represents the nation’s aspirations.